The Journey Prize

There are presently no open calls for submissions.


  • The $10,000 Writers’ Trust / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to an emerging Canadian writer of distinction for a short story or excerpt from a fiction work-in-progress first published by a Canadian magazine or annual anthology during the previous calendar year.
  • In recognition of the vital role literary print and online magazines and annual anthologies play in discovering new writers, McClelland & Stewart makes its own award of $2,000 to the publication that originally published and submitted the winning entry.


  • Each year, an independent jury is appointed by McClelland & Stewart in conjunction with The Writers’ Trust of Canada.
  • The jury will select approximately 9-12 stories for inclusion in The Journey Prize Stories, published annually in the fall by McClelland & Stewart. From the stories selected for the anthology, the jury will then select a shortlist of three stories and, from these three, a winner



  1. Submissions to The Journey Prize must come from eligible Canadian print and online-only literary magazines and annual anthologies, and must be the product of an editorial process. The Journey Prize reserves the right to decide whether a publication qualifies for entry. Publications that have never before submitted to the Journey Prize should write to to confirm their eligibility prior to submitting. 
  2. The Journey Prize and the Journey Prize anthology are designed to support new and developing Canadian writers during the early stages of their career. The Journey Prize reserves the right to decide whether a submitted writer qualifies for entry based on this mandate. In the event that a writer is disqualified on this basis, the submitting publication will be given the opportunity to submit a replacement entry.
  3. Only works from writers who are Canadian citizens, whether living in Canada or abroad, or permanent residents of Canada are eligible. 
  4. Writers who have published MORE THAN ONE book of fiction, or who have won national awards for their fiction, or whose fiction has already received substantial attention are not eligible for consideration. Editors are encouraged to confirm their authors' publication history prior to submission.
  5. Writers may have appeared in earlier volumes of The Journey Prize anthology but cannot have won The Journey Prize before. Previous winners are listed here.
  6. Entries by writers who are currently on the masthead of the submitting publication are not eligible.
  7. Entries must have had first publication in the submitting magazine or anthology during the 2018 calendar year. In the event that a publication’s last issue of the year is unavoidably delayed, stories published in that issue will remain eligible as long as the issue carries a 2018 copyright.
  8. With the exception of annual anthologies, entries must not have been published in book form at the time of submission to The Journey Prize (i.e. February 2019). This includes, but is not limited to, an appearance in the author’s own book of fiction if the book is published before February 2019. Editors are strongly encouraged to confirm this with their authors prior to submission.
  9. In consideration of the possible ambiguity around the meaning of the phrase “nominated for the Journey Prize” -- with that phrase being used both by writers whose stories have been selected by the judges to appear in the Journey Prize anthology and, on occasion, by writers whose stories were submitted to the prize but not selected for the anthology -- we would request that editors, in their correspondence with the writers they are putting forward for the prize, clarify that these writers should refer to themselves only as having been “nominated by X magazine for the Journey Prize” or as  “X magazine’s nominee for the Journey Prize” unless they hear further from the Journey Prize.  



  1. The deadline for receipt of submissions is February 28, 2019.
  2. Each eligible publication may submit up to three (3) short stories or excerpts from fiction works-in-progress by emerging Canadian writers first published during the previous calendar year. Please upload each submission separately. (If you don’t have a Submittable account, you will be prompted to register for a free account.) 
  3. There is no entry fee. There are no word length restrictions. 
  4. Each submission must be accompanied by a completed Entry Form (click "submit" below to bring up the Entry Form). 
  5. IMPORTANT: To ensure blind judging, please delete or redact all identifying info, including author's name, publication title, and any other identifying details (e.g., running heads/tails, ads, etc.) from every page of the story before uploading.
  6. Each submission should include a biographical note for the author.
  7. PRINT PUBLICATIONS: Each submission should include an upload of 1) the table of contents and 2) the copyright page from the issue in which the story appeared
  8. ONLINE PUBLICATIONS: Each submission should include an upload of a screen shot of the story as it appeared online.
  9. Editors are encouraged to ask their authors to keep The Journey Prize apprised of any changes of address through to June 2019. 
  10. Editors who prefer to submit hard copies to the prize should download the offline submission instructions here.  


  1.  Those authors whose stories have been selected to appear in the forthcoming Journey Prize Stories 31 will be contacted in May 2019.
  2. The complete list of contributors to The Journey Prize Stories 31 will be announced ahead of the anthology's publication at
  3. A shortlist of three stories and the eventual winner of the 2019 Journey Prize will be announced by The Writers’ Trust of Canada in the fall of 2019.



All inquiries should be directed to:

  The Journey Prize
c/o McClelland & Stewart
320 Front Street West, Suite 1400
Toronto, ON M5V 3B6
Tel: (416) 957-1566

For more information and news about The Journey Prize and The Journey Prize Stories throughout the year, please visit us at

Thank you for your support of The Journey Prize.

The Journey Prize